About Chairman

Dr G Satheesh Reddy


Brief Biodata

Dr G Satheesh Reddy, Scientific Advisor to Raksha Mantri and Director General (Missiles and Strategic Systems), DRDO is an Aerospace Scientist well renowned for his R&D in Missile Systems and sustained contributions towards advancement of Aerospace technologies & industries in India.

As Director General, Missiles and Strategic Systems, he is spearheading the entire design and development of a wide variety of tactical and strategic missile systems. He provided necessary thrust to the Ballistic Missile Defence (BMD) programme and successfully demonstrated the Exo and Endo atmospheric Interceptor Missile capabilities. Under his leadership, state-of-the-art weapon systems – ICBM Agni 5, Long Range Agni 4, Advanced Naval Missiles, Medium Range Surface to Air Missile (MRSAM), LRSAM, Astra, HELINA achieved technological breakthroughs, remarkable success and are in the advanced stages of induction. The key technology initiatives of Dr Satheesh played a major role in boosting Indian defence capabilities through successful realization of Smart Anti Airfield Weapon, Guided Munitions and precision strike weapons.

As Director, Research Centre Imarat, the Avionics laboratory founded by Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, he led the development of Avionics technologies in critical areas for Indian Missiles and         other defence programmes. His contributions to high value assets for Defence of India are unique                          and nonpareil.

Dr Satheesh conceptualized, designed and developed the fault tolerant redundant navigation system with innovative algorithms and other critical Avionics sub-systems which have been successfully flight tested in all the Four missions of the country’s first Inter Continental Ballistic Missile ICBM class Agni-5 missile, propelling the country to the elite club of advanced nations. This development brought in self-reliance in denied sensor technology, possessed only by few nations.

As Programme Director, successfully developed the Medium Range Surface to Air Weapon System (MRSAM) and spearheaded its hat-trick success in the maiden missions providing necessary thrust to the Air Defence capability of the country.

As Project Director, Dr Satheesh developed the country’s first Guided Bomb bolstering weapons capability of Armed forces, steered R&D of Avionics technologies in the restrictive Control Regimes and made the country self-reliant.

Dr Satheesh graduated in Electronics and Communication Engineering from JNTU, Anantapur and pursued his MS and Doctorate from JNTU, Hyderabad. Dr Satheesh is globally renowned Navigation expert and is the only Scientist from India holding the distinction of being inducted as Fellow of Royal Institute of Navigation, London; Royal Aeronautical Society, UK. He is the first Indian Scientist to be honoured and inducted as a Foreign Member of the Academy of Navigation & Motion Control, Russia. He is an Honorary Fellow of Computer Society of India and Fellow of many other professional/ scientific bodies in the country and abroad.

For his significant contributions to Defence Science Technology, Dr Satheesh received the prestigious Indian Science Congress Association Homi J. Bhabha Memorial Award, DRDO Agni Award for Excellence in Self Reliance and Young Scientist Award from Hon’ble Prime Ministers of India. He was conferred with the first IEI-IEEE (USA) joint award for Engineering Excellence which he received from IEEE President, USA.

For his pioneering contributions to Missiles and Aerospace technologies, he became the first ever Scientist from India to be conferred with the Silver Medal of Royal Aeronautical Society, London in the Society’s Awards history spanning over 100 years. Incidentally the first Gold Medal of the Royal Aeronautical Society, London was awarded to Orville and Wilbur Wright – the famous Wright Brothers way back in 1909.

He is also a recipient of the National Aeronautical Prize, National Systems Gold Medal,                   Dr Biren Roy Space Science Design Award, Rocket Related technologies Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and many other honours/recognitions.

He has been conferred with Honorary Degrees of Doctor of Science by Amity University, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Kakinada, SASTRA University, Rajiv Gandhi Technical University and many other leading Universities of the country.

His technological contributions have left a lasting imprint on the technology map as well as the defence preparedness of the country.